User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Imagine XLS / Chevy Silverado Towing Question

Hello and thank you for reading my post. I am brand new to RVing and looking to purchase my first travel trailer. I do have some experience towing work trailers up to 16-20 feet long. We have been looking at different make/models over the last few months. My wife and I have determined that either the 2022 Grand Design Imagine XLS 23LDE or 22 MLE is the best fit for us and how we plan to use it. My wife really wants the 23LDE model but I am unsure if I have the truck for it. I spoke to the dealer and without hesitation he stated my truck is fine to tow it. I have used a online calculator and it comes up green to tow. The problem is I don't really understand all the numbers involved (I have read what the acronyms' mean but now I am lost) and will I be pushing the limit, how it impacts what I have in the truck and how much I have in the travel trailer and where all that weight sits. As like most of you, we have precious cargo that we need to protect as well as others on the road.

We do not plan to tow a ton. 10-15 trips per year to see how the wife likes it. Mostly highway miles with some boondocking involved.

I own a 2021 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 RST 5.3L ECOTEC3 V8 W/O DFM. Some of the numbers I pulled off the door jam sticker are GVWR 7100, GCWR 15000, RGAWR 3800, curb weight 5344, max payload 1756, an rear axle 3.23 ratio.

As stated above I would like to buy either the 23LDE (dry weight 5597 gross weight 6995, hitch weight 524) or 22MLE (dry weight 5716, gross weight 6995, hitch weight 490).

Can I tow either of this comfortably and safely? Or should I look for a lighter/smaller RV?

Thank you so much for your help.
    Last edited by cnowland; 09-25-2022 at 11:44 AM.

Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)