User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Fireside Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    arkansas
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question no cable signal to tv

    for the first time i was going to use a cable signal from the rv park. our direct tv had no signal. so i attached the cable to the proper connection on the rv. but had no signal to either tv. what is the problem?

  2. #2
    Site Sponsor Steve and Cill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    1,368
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Do you have the antenna booster turned off and do you have the TVs set for cable? BTW; welcome to the forum!

    Steve

  3. #3
    Seasoned Camper IDwanderers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You will also need to select "cable" and scan for available channels once you are hooked up.
    Lyle & Cathy plus Boomer (English Lab)

    2015 Grand Design Momentum 350M
    2016 RAM 3500 DRW Laramie Limited 4X4
    6.7 Cummins with Aisin Transmission

  4. #4
    Fireside Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Had the same thing happen to me on our maiden voyage three months ago in our Solitude 369. I ran the problem down to a connection that is made from the slide out to the trailer. I found the cable wire in the wire loom that feeds the slide and there was some slack in it. I was able to pull it out a little and there was a cable connecter. The connecter was barely together and I found the wire wasn't all the way in the connecter either. This wire loom is located under the slide out. If the other to suggestions earlier don't work, this may be a possibility. I was ready to run a new cable after I isolated the problem area. Good luck.

  5. #5
    gthompson1028
    Guest
    What type of satellite do you use with Direct TV?

  6. #6
    Fireside Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Canton N.C.
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    gthompson I have a Wineguard pathway that works great with DirecTV.
    David,Sherry & Two Grandsons
    2015 Reflection 323 BHS #955
    2016 Ram 3500 SRW

  7. #7
    Fireside Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    arkansas
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for all the responses. I'm thinking that some where the cable must not be getting the signal to the TV. I understand the need to have the TV set to the correct input source. The antennae connection works fine. I will try to check the cable all the way to the TV. Thanks again for the suggestions.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Carl and Diane - Arkansas
    2017 Grand Design Solitude 369RL
    2020 CHEVY 2500 HIGH COUNTRY DURAMAX
    Companion 5th wheel

  8. #8
    Fireside Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good luck with your quest, one thing I've read in these forums is that GD uses complete runs while they wire the trailer. But it looks like they wire the trailer and the slides separately and when they set the slides, they make the connections for the two. This included the electrical in my trailer too. Also where the power booster is located, this is where your cable wires meet and get routed to the different locations. I spent a good month looking and contemplating what to do, and getting a feel for how the trailer was built. Again, good luck in your search.
    Jon & Lori - Clovis CA
    2015 Solitude 369RL #3825 " The Rock "
    2013 Chevy 3500 SRW, Duramax Diesel

  9. #9
    Jannnan
    Guest
    When using the RV Park cable I get a signal to the bedroom TV or storage area, but the picture is very bad, like snowy, the living room TV is excellent picture, what am I missing?

  10. #10
    Rolling Along TNFSolitude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Huron Twsp, MI
    Posts
    989
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jannnan View Post
    When using the RV Park cable I get a signal to the bedroom TV or storage area, but the picture is very bad, like snowy, the living room TV is excellent picture, what am I missing?
    Our Solitude has 2 cable jacks on the ceiling, try moving the input cable to the other jack. Next, turn on the TV and go to Menu and find the setup options. Choose Cable and then scan for channels. Should work after that.
    Tom & Nancy
    Newport, MI
    369RL, #302

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Connecting a Cable Modem via Cable connection
    By Boxkicker46 in forum Full Timing your Grand Design RV
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-06-2017, 12:32 AM
  2. Poor cable TV signal in RV Park - need signal booster?
    By GypsySix in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-13-2017, 08:29 PM
  3. Living Room TV - no cable signal
    By AshburnDave in forum General Tech Topics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-18-2016, 04:50 PM
  4. Loss of AM/FM Signal
    By James D. in forum Electrical System and Wiring
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-05-2015, 05:37 PM
  5. No signal in bedroom
    By Knshook in forum General Tech Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-14-2014, 05:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

DISCLAIMER:This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Grand Design RV, LLC or any of its affiliates. This is an independent site.