User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Planning a trip to Eastern Canada at end of Summer...

We just purchased a 26ft TT and are complete newbies. We had never spent the night in a camper when we took off from Key Largo to Alaska this past summer. We did the entire 4 month journey without advance reservations (15,550 miles). We winged it and wanted to stay loose with travel plans because again...we were newbies and had no idea how far we would make each day. We did a LOT of dry camping and boondocking.

I mention that because next Summer we would like to see the East part of Canada and Maine. We will leave from South Florida around middle of Aug. and hopefully hit the fall colors on way back at end of Oct. Since our trip will be at the end of Summer, after the kids go back to school, would you guys think it's ok for us to do this trip without reservations made in advance? Like Alaska and western Canada, we are not sure where we want to spend a bunch of time. I do plan on hitting PEI, Nova Scotia, Maine, etc... but not specific in details. Would like to do as much boondocking as possible but we understand there may not be nearly as much opportunity as Alaska.

Anyway...we need some guidance and suggestions regarding places to see and advice on not having reservations that time of year.
    Thanks guys.

Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anywhere there are leaf peepers there will be full campgrounds, so your plan on boondocking will likely be a plus for you. We tried to wing it starting in VA along the Skyline drive and at the first stop we were told nope, no room we're full. Not even National forest camping was available. 2 more hours to the closest spot other than Walmart. So spent the rest of the first night reserving areas we wanted to stop.