Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

F-150 EB towing in Rocky Mountains

Looking for feedback on real experiences towing a similar setup below in the Rocky Mountains. I have a lot of experience driving in the Rockies, but no experience towing a TT there. Planning a trip and wondering about others experience. Yes, yes, I know my truck is probably borderline or undersized for my TT. So please, no responses telling me to upsize my truck. I’m actually looking at ¾ ton diesel trucks. But, I have several reasons I’d like to keep my current truck and manage with it. So, I’m looking for real experiences and upgrade ides on how to best make what I have work.

Truck: 2018 F-150 Platinum, 3.5L EcoBoost, 3.55 rear end, FX4 4WD, Max tow package, Roadmaster Active Suspension on rear. Considering upgrading to Bilstein 5100 shocks on rear.

Trailer: 2022 Grand Design Imagine 2910BH, GVWR 8995 lbs. UVW 7196. 34 ft LOA. ~8500 lbs with gear per CAT scale. 850-900 lbs actual tongue weight.

Hitch: Weigh Safe True Tow WDH

Reasons to keep my F-150:

1. Paid for and it’s a really nice truck. Rather not have a new truck note.
    2. It is my everyday driver and gets good mpg (18-19 mpg average, 22-24 highway). A diesel for my everyday driver is not going to get as good mpg and diesel fuel is about 40% more per gallon.
    3. A ¾ ton truck won’t fit in my garage, too long.
    4. I’m easily below 80% of my truck’s towing capacity.
    5. I’m a part-time RVer: Usually one weekend a month plus a few weeks in the summer and elsewhere.
    6. I’ve towed my TT for 6300 miles so far, including a 4200 mile trip last summer through some of the northern midwest hills/mountains.
    7. I will probably retire within 5 years. I’m considering selling my house then, buying a motorhome and full-time RVing. The money I’d spend on a new diesel truck could be saved and put towards a MH.