User Tag List

Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

More newbie questions

So, a few more questions if you will endure it.

At what point should one consider upgrading to 8k axles? I know the obvious answer is the expected loaded weight, but since I have no experience in this area, I really don’t know. For example, with the 310GK/GK-R model, if we plan to have a washer and dryer and a generator, all that is upfront so more load overall, but further away from the axles and the payload seems to become more important (of the TV). We will probably have one or two solar panels and upgrade to dual pane windows and the king bed. Dishwasher is a possibility, but not sure right now. However, if we were to get the 2930RL/RL-R, the generator would still be in the front, but the washer and dryer would be over or very close to being over the axles. We would have what I would think are the normal things people have, such as the various things to make a kitchen functional, and would fill up the bedroom closet with clothes. I am aware the upgrade to 8k axles includes disc brakes, which I plan to do even if we just keep the 7k axles.

Getting back to the dishwasher, since water is a precious commodity, and dishwashers usually use less water than hand washing, for those that have a dishwasher, any regrets in having one? Not referring to the particular dishwasher model you have, just the practical use of it.

Solar – unless one is in the southwest, I would think most people are going to be in shady areas when at the campsite of their choice (of course, also in the southwest if you can find one). So, how practical is solar when staying for more than just a few days in various campsites (which is our plan). I know it will help for a relatively short amount of time, but without moving your rig, is it very practical? Our plan is to generally stay at one place for 1 – 3 weeks, in case that type of use helps with the answer.

TIA

Brian

Mentioned