User Tag List

Thread: The Big one

Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Lightbulb The Big one

I have been RVing since 1992. During that time I pretty much saw the warrantees as maybe good for the the "Big one" IOW I just fixed all the little, and some not so little things myself, never thinking I would need the warranty
    I recently had the Big one occur on my Momentum. We had noticeable wall damage in the bedrom, and shuddering groaning when shifting the weight from the landing gear to the pin. cracks in the exterior walls and trim pulling away.I actually took a video of the wall moving against the nightstand.
    So after emptying the RV, we took it to our dealer Orangewood RV After quite a bit of time getting a proper diagnosis, it was determined that some bolts holding the upper deck to the frame were not installed. IMO, this was likely due to it being built at the height of the Covid drama. I know the plant had at least one closure that could have affected my unit. I can imagine a scenario where the line shut down for some time, and started back up weeks later, and that step just got missed.That is just my opinion of course.

I just picked it up after 5 months. The upper deck flex is now zero, and all items were fixed up better than new. Even some things I wasn't aware of. The general manager Brad at Orangewood RV personally handled everything pertaining to my repairs. Orangewood has some very good people working there. I will admit that I was nervous about them doing the work, but it turned out great. Grand Design did not try to shirk their responsibility at all. The stood up and did the right thing. The work order was 25 pages long! I think the cost was well into five figures. My cost was zero as it should be.
    So the warranty from Grand Design is for real. That coupled with a very good dealer made for a great outcome