User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Fireside Member bill.morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Furnace and AC running at Same Time.

    We took delivery of our Reflection 337 in December and are just now taking it out on our first trip. I thought we did a thorough PDI, but now we notice the AC in the living room running at the same time as the furnace and blowing cool air through he ceiling vents. We have the Atwood furnace and a Dometic thermostat. The compressor of the AC is not coming on and the furnace is blowing warm air through the floor vents.

    This doesn't sound normal, but I want to check before calling in to our dealer.

    As always, thanks for the help!

    Bill




    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Bill & Debbie - Pineville, LA
    Pups - Loosey and Lil Dude
    2016 Reflection 337RLS
    2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Duramax Z71 4WD

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  2. #2
    Site Sponsor Dave and Monica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Gore Bay, Ontario
    Posts
    2,171
    Blog Entries
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have a Dometic thermostat you need to set the fan to auto. If set in low or high the A/C fan will run at the same time as the furnace.

    Dave
    Dave and Monica - Gore Bay, Ontario
    Vitus the Hungarian Vizsla
    2014 Reflection 337 RLS #129
    2008 F250 V10 CC Lariat RWD

  3. #3
    Fireside Member bill.morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That was the issue! Thanks so much Dave!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Bill & Debbie - Pineville, LA
    Pups - Loosey and Lil Dude
    2016 Reflection 337RLS
    2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Duramax Z71 4WD

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  4. #4
    Fireside Member bill.morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    One more question, Dave: We have a switch labeled "Porch Light" in the switch panel that, based on other posts on 303s, should illuminate a blue LED on the outside steps. My switch doesn't seem to do anything. Is this switch connected on your 337? Thanks, bill




    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Bill & Debbie - Pineville, LA
    Pups - Loosey and Lil Dude
    2016 Reflection 337RLS
    2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Duramax Z71 4WD

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  5. #5
    Site Sponsor Dave and Monica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Gore Bay, Ontario
    Posts
    2,171
    Blog Entries
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Bill...I have a 337 proto built Sept 2013 so the switch panel has probably been changed once (or twice) since then. I have two switches in mine labelled 'Porch Light'...one is the blue LED exterior step light, the other is the LED awning light. The panel can be easily removed to check if the connections are secure...they been known to be loose or unconnected.

    Dave
    Dave and Monica - Gore Bay, Ontario
    Vitus the Hungarian Vizsla
    2014 Reflection 337 RLS #129
    2008 F250 V10 CC Lariat RWD

  6. #6
    Long Hauler Paul & Deb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Carlsbad, CA
    Posts
    2,959
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bill.morrison View Post
    One more question, Dave: We have a switch labeled "Porch Light" in the switch panel that, based on other posts on 303s, should illuminate a blue LED on the outside steps. My switch doesn't seem to do anything. Is this switch connected on your 337? Thanks, bill

    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Bill, in our 2015 337 the Porch Light switch does in fact operate the blue light in the steps. In reference to Dave's comment, GD changed labeling the awning LED lights from Porch Light to Awning Light.
    Paul "Poppy" and Deb Cervone
    2022 Imagine XLS 22MLE
    2021 Imagine XLS 17MKE - SOLD ; 2015 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS - SOLD
    2016 GMC Denali 3500HD SRW Duramax/Allison CC 4x4; Tire Minder TPMS

  7. #7
    Fireside Member bill.morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would love to have the blue lights on the steps. Our porch switch doesn't seem to be connected to anything. I'll pull the panel and check the connections. In any case, I want to check the wiring behind the panel to add switches for the main living area ceiling lights and the awning light to the bottom of the cabinet where the hutch and island lights are switched. I don't want to have to open the cabinet door each time I switch the ceiling lights or awning.

    We took delivery on Dec 3rd, but have not had a chance to take it out. We are going out this Wednesday for 5 days at a local national forest campground and today was moving day! Took all the boxes of stuff from our old camper and moved into the 337! I'm really looking forward to tweaking everything and making it ours!

    As always, thanks for the help!
    Bill & Debbie - Pineville, LA
    Pups - Loosey and Lil Dude
    2016 Reflection 337RLS
    2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Duramax Z71 4WD

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  8. #8
    Site Sponsor Cate&Rob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    8,880
    Mentioned
    85 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bill,

    When you get into this, pull the switch panel under the hutch and you will see the bottom of the main panel cavity . . . but no access hole.
    I drilled up from the bottom with a 1" Forstner bit and re-routing wires and switches like you describe, became easy.

    Rob
    Cate & Rob
    2015 Reflection 303RLS

  9. #9
    Fireside Member bill.morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the info, Rob. I have a set of Forstner bits, so I'll take that approach. I found and ordered a double switch on Amazon for < $10, so I hope to get to it next week.

    Thanks, bill
    Bill & Debbie - Pineville, LA
    Pups - Loosey and Lil Dude
    2016 Reflection 337RLS
    2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Duramax Z71 4WD

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  10. #10
    Seasoned Camper
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    386
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had the same issue with the heater and the cooler fan coming on at the same time. I couldn't figure it out until I read this thread. Went out and put the fan on auto and it works perfect now. Thanks for the info. Saved me a lot of research and head scratching.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AC fan running when I start the furnace?
    By butch50 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2017, 03:08 PM
  2. Gas smell when furnace is running
    By attroll in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-15-2017, 09:37 AM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-01-2017, 05:26 PM
  4. furance & air conditioner on at same time ?
    By grumpypapa in forum Electrical System and Wiring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2016, 07:25 AM
  5. Floor Raising when Furnace is Running
    By numner in forum Interior
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-23-2016, 02:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

DISCLAIMER:This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Grand Design RV, LLC or any of its affiliates. This is an independent site.