Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Airing Tires

Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Airing Tires

I am brand new to RVs. Here's my problem, where the heck do you air up RV and tower tires? I have an air compressor at the house and it is rated at over 100 lbs with a 6 gallon tank. It won't come close to putting 100 lbs pressure in a tire. My tow vehicle is 2015 Chevy HD 3500 DRW and calls for 75 front and 65 rear pressures, cold. Again, no can do. Filling stations, fergitaboutit. Tire shops, not for free, I wouldn't think. So???????

Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good morning,
    I'm not sure about all tire centers, but Les Schwab tire store in the Western states will air and check your tires for free as a matter of company policy. My son is an employee of Les Schwab and I have been a customer for 30 years.

Just my $.02
    Jim & Gwen
    2015 Solitude 379fl, VIN 573FS4324F1102454
    2011 F-350 SC, DRW, 6.7 PSD, Ride-Rite Air Bags, Pull-Rite 20.5 K
    "You can't get lost if you don't care where you're going"

Mentioned
    194 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Jack,

I think there may be something wrong with your compressor. We carry a compressor with a small tank that's rated for 120 PSI. I don't have anything that requires over 80 PSI, but the compressor has no problem with it and will certainly inflate beyond 80 PSI if I were to let it (have overshot a few few times and had to let air out). You are right to use only a compressor with a tank. Tank-less compressors will put a lot of moister/water into the tire through the compression/condensation process and a tank - which can be drained - eliminates this issue.

Rob
    U.S. Army Retired
    2012 F350 DRW CC LB Lariat PS 6.7
    2020 Solitude 310GK-R, MORryde IS, disc brakes,
    Sailun LRG tires, solar, DP windows, W/D
    (Previously in a Reflection 337RLS)
    Full time since 08/2015

Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned