Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Which Hitch?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Which Hitch?

Greetings to all. I have used a small motor home for the past four years. I will soon have a Momentum 350M. This is my first time at fifth wheeling so I am a newbie. In trying to figure out how to tow it I have looked at a lot of fifth wheel hitches and read a lot of opinions. I am looking for a hitch connection that can be removed from the bed of the truck so the truck can be used for transport, e.g. kayaks, once we reach our destination. I discovered the Andersen hitch, made in Idaho. This hitch converts the pin box connection to a goose neck connection. The piece installed in the truck bed weighs less than 100 pounds so is easily removed. It seemed to be perfect until I read that Lippert will not stand behind their frame warranty with this set-up because it has not been tested. Lippert will stand behind their frame warranty if the Reese Goose Box 5th-Wheel-to-Gooseneck Air Ride Coupler Adapter is used.
    ( https://www.etrailer.com/Gooseneck-a...e/RP94623.html
    With the Reese goose box replacing the pin box on the trailer one is left with a ball and two chain attachments in the truck bed which are easily stored, leaving an empty bed.

So my questions are: Does anyone have experience towing a fifth wheel with the Reese goose box and what do you think of it?

Is this a popular setup and I just do not know that? Why isn’t everyone using this method to haul their fifth wheel trailers and have better use of their truck upon arrival?

Is there a benefit to hauling with the larger fifth wheel hitch set up as opposed to a goose neck?

Thanks to all.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Congratulations!! Welcome to our group! I can't help you. I use a Reese 22K fifth wheel hitch