Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Tag Wag when being passed by Semi

I'm new to towing a Travel Trailer. I towed only 4 times and my F150 w/3.5 Ecoboost engine pulls great. No problem there but I am not happy with getting sucked over when being passed by semi tractor trailers.

I'm looking for recommendations to improve/fix getting sucked over when being passed by tractor trailers.
    Is it squishy tires on the truck? Will Load Range E, Michelin Defender LTS M/S, LT265/60R20 fix or help?
    Will changing the WDH Spring bars to 1,500 lb version help?
    Do I need to trade the truck in on a F250 SD?

Here are the truck and trailer specs.

Truck:
    2016 F150 w/Max Trailer Tow Package
    2WD SuperCrew w.5.5' bed
    Engine: 3.5 Ecoboost
    GVWR 6800 lbs
    Payload 1964 lbs
    truck empty weight about 4,600 lbs

Tires:
    Michelin LTX M/S2, 275/55R20 113H (35PSI)
    WD Hitch: Blue Ox SwayPro With 1,000 lb bars

Trailer:
    Grand Design Imagine 2800BH
    32 feet from back wall to hitch ball
    Empty Weight 6110lbs
    Max Weight 7490 lbs
    Tongue Weight about 900 lbs

I love the F150 and I would like to be able to make it more stable in wind and when being passed by big trucks. If I can't get it more stable I'll be looking at trading the truck in for a F250/350. I am willing to spend up to $3,000 to make the F150 work.

FYI: I've also posted this on F150 forum.
    Last edited by Jerryr; 11-23-2016 at 03:34 PM.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You might want to check on a Hensley or ProPride hitch. Back when I pulled a TT I had a Hensley hitch. Once you use one, you'll never want to go back.

Sent from a tiny keyboard.
    2016 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS

King Pin
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)