Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Frame Quality

Rolling Along
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Frame Quality

Can anyone tell me what their perceived view is on the frame quality on the Solitude. Are there stiffeners welded in above the spring perches? I need to have a first hand look to inspect the workmanship, and with 30 years experience as a welder, I am critical of structural quality. Hopefully I like what I see.

Mentioned
    230 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Like you said, you need to see it in person to determine if you like what you see.

No one else here will know....
    Steve- Inventory Manager at Tom Schaeffer's RV, Shoemakersville, PA www.tomschaeffers.com
    [email protected]
    2011 RAM 3500 SRW Outdoorsman Edition 4X4, 6.7 Cummins--TWEAKED!
    2021 Reflection 310RLS

Rolling Along
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is my plan to visit a Grand Design Dealer today and take my first in person look. There are no dealers close to me, but this one is only 170 miles away.

Rolling Along
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Although I am not an expert on welding, I believe that Lippert does take shortcuts on many components to maximize profits. The brake issue is a prime example. I have done some frame work, mainly reinforcing a class three hitch to the frame to handle a small motorcycle. In my observations, it appears that some of the welds are not as good as they should be. I would be interested in reading what your, Nuffsaid, impression of the quality is. Due to the fact that I already own a unit, I will make the best of what I have, while keeping a close eye on the numerous stress points.

Gordo Fuchs

King Pin
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)