Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    King Pin
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Lithium Battery Owners - Some Useful Data

I recently purchased two Battle Born 100 amp hour lithium batteries for my 2017 Grand Design 297RSTS. Ginnie and I do a lot of camping without hookups, so we wanted to have as much battery power as possible without a lot of weight on the tongue of the trailer. I'm a retired electrical engineer, so when I make a purchase of this size, I like to have data to understand how to get the best results from the items I spend my money on.

State of Charge Tables

No matter what type of battery you have, it's important to know the state of charge. On lead/acid and AGM batteries, you should never let them get below 50% state of charge or you risk damaging the batteries and shortening their life. So if you have a 90 amp hour battery, you should use no more than 45 amp hours before recharging. It's easy to monitor the state of charge by measuring the voltage on your batteries with a volt meter. To get an accurate state of charge measurement, it should be taken when there is not a load on the batteries. This means that you should turn off all items that are draining the battery (such as lights) for at least 10 minutes before taking the measurement. If you're using lead/acid or AGM batteries, you should recharge the batteries when they reach a no load voltage of 12.10 VDC which is a 50% SOC. The batteries will last even longer if you try to keep them above a 70% SOC which is a no load voltage of 12.37 VDC. The following table shows the corresponding voltage for a 50% state of charge on an average lead/acid or AGM battery:

Lead/Acid - AGM SOC Chart